Board View
SUBJECT [Dec 10] Finland gets new Prime Minister; Tajik President signs a decree on parliamentary elections
DATE 2019-12-10

PHOTO: The Guardian. Ms. Sanna Marin to become the new Prime Minister of Finland.



On December 8, 2019, the Social Democratic Party of Finland elected Ms. Sanna Marin as the party’s candidate for Prime Minister.


The new Finnish government will still be run by a coalition of five parties. Four other parties in the coalition are Left Alliance, Green League, Centre Party, and Swedish People’s Party, all of which are also led by female leaders. The leaders of these parties are Ms. Li Andersson, Ms. Maria Ohisalo, Ms. Katri Kulmuni, and Ms. Anna-Maja Henriksson, respectively. As soon as the other parties name their ministers, Ms. Marine will be sworn in with Parliament’s approval.


When she was chosen as the world’s youngest Prime Minister and Finland’s third female Prime Minister, Ms. Marine said: “I have not actually ever thought about my age or my gender…I think of the reasons I got into politics and those things for which we have won the trust of the electorate.”


Having served as Transport Minister, Ms. Marin is to succeed Mr. Antti Rinne, who resigned last week after losing the confidence of Centre Party. Mr. Rinne, however, will remain as the leader of the Social Democratic Party.


The new government under Ms. Marine’s leadership is expected to address issues ranging from job creation to climate goals, which include making Finland carbon neutral by 2035.


BY MSEAP Cyber Secretariat (




PHOTO: Tajik President, Mr. Emomali Rahmon, signs a decree on parliamentary elections.



On December 4, 2019, Tajik President Mr. Emomali Rahmon signed a decree to hold parliamentary elections in March 2020.


According to the decree, elections for Majlisi Namoyandagon (House of Representatives, the lower house) are slated to be held on March 1, while those for Majlisi Milli (National Assembly, the upper house) are scheduled to take place on March 27.


Currently, Majlisi Namoyandagon comprises 63 members who are elected to serve for five years, whereas Majlisi Milli has 25 elected members and 8 appointed members.


BY MSEAP Cyber Secretariat (