Board View
SUBJECT [Mar 11] Azerbaijan Parliament elects first female speaker
DATE 2020-03-11

Photo: Trend. Azerbaijani Parliament’s First Female Speaker, Sahiba Gafarova


The first female speaker was born in the Azerbaijani Parliament (Milli Mejlis). On March 10, Members of the Parliament voted the Sahiba Gafarova as Speaker. President of the Republic of Azerbaijan Ilham Aliyev was also present at the plenary session.


A philologist and politician, Gafarova was an MP from the ruling Yeni Azerbaijan (New Azerbaijan) party and a member of the Azerbaijani delegation to the PACE. During the first plenary meeting, Yeni Azerbaijan party submitted the motion to propose Gafarova as the candidate. She was voted for by 116 out of 125 MPs.


Additionally, Ali Huseynli was elected First Deputy Speaker, and Adil Aliyev and Fazail Ibrahimli were elected Deputy Speakers. After the confirmation of the Speakers’ elections, Chair and Deputy Chair of the Committees of Milli Majlis were also elected.


On March 5, Azerbaijani Constitutional Court approved and announced the final result of the snap election on February 9.




Hromadske. (2020, March 10). Woman Elected Speaker of Azerbaijan Parliament for the First Time. Retrieved from


Trend. (2020, March 10). President Ilham Aliyev attends first session of Azerbaijani Parliament's sixth convocation (PHOTO/VIDEO). Retrieved from


Trend. (2020, March 10). Speaker of Azerbaijan's Parliament elected. Retrieved from



BY MSEAP Cyber Secretariat (